You are here

Transportation Finance and Mileage-Based User Fee Symposium

April 15-16, 2013 | Philadelphia, PA

Meeting Summary

Monday, April 15, 2013 to Tuesday, April 16, 2013
Session Date: 
Monday, April 15, 2013
Session Description: 

Opening Remarks

  • Patrick Jones, IBTTA
  • Robert Horr, Thousand Islands Bridge Authority
  • Mark Compton, Pennsylvania Turnpike Authority
  • Steve Morello, D'Artagnan Consulting
  • Barry Schoch, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania


Public-Private Partnerships

This session was a discussion panel without the use of slides.

Moderator: Adrian Moore, Reason Foundation

  • Rick Geddes, Cornell University
  • Rob Keough, John Hancock Financial Services
  • Ananth Prasad, State of Florida

State Necessity vs. Federal Role: What's Next?

This session was a discussion panel without the use of slides.

Moderator: Patrick Jones, IBTTA

  • Kathy Ruffalo, Ruffalo Associates
  • Deron Lovaas, National Resource Defense Council
  • Joshua Schank, Eno Foundation

MAP-21: What's Next?

Moderator: Frank McCartney, Parsons Brinckerhoff, Inc.

Fred Kessler, Nossaman LLC

Matt Baranca, Governement Accountability Office


Update on Oregon's Road Usage Charge Program

Moderator: Randal Thomas, Oregon Department of Transportation

Su Midghall, DHM Research

Matthew Dorfman, D'Artagnan Consulting

Ben Miners, Intelligent Mechatronic Systems Inc.

Update on Mileage-Based User Fee Projects

Moderator: Lee Munnich, Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of MN

Cory Johnson, Minnesota Department of Transportation

Alauddin Khan, P.E., Nevada Department of Transportation

Jeffrey Buxbaum, Cambridge Systematics, Inc.

International Applications of MBUF and/or Urban Congestion Charging

Moderator: Barb Rohde, Mileage-Based User Fee Alliance

Scott Wilson, LeighFisher Management Consultants

Dirk Grevink, BNV Mobility

Lars Carlsson, Swedish Transport Agency and Marianne Erlandson, Swedish Transport Administration

Session Date: 
Tuesday, April 16, 2013
Session Description: 


Latest Trends in Innovative Financing

Moderator: Susan Buse, CDM Smith

Adam Torres, Standards & Poor's

Laura Barrientos, Moody's Investors Service

Scott Zuchorski, Fitch Ratings


Methods, Technology, Business Rules for MBUF

Moderator: Jack Opiola, D'Artagnan Consulting

Brian Michie, EROAD Limited

Bruce Schaller, New York City Department of Transportation

David Ungemah, Parsons Brinckerhoff, Inc. 

Ben Pierce, Battelle Memorial Institute

Chris Isbell, SANEF Tolling


Political and Process Realities of Moving to MBUF

This session was a discussion panel without the use of slides.

Moderator: Paul Sorensen, Ph.D., RAND Corporation

  • Joung Lee, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO)
  • Ian Grossman, American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA)
  • Adrian Moore, Reason Foundation