

International Bridge, Tunnel and Turnpike Association 1146 19th Street, NW, Suite 600 Washington, DC 20036 202.659.4620 • www.ibtta.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, January 6, 2014

CONTACTS: Kristofer Eisenla

<u>Kristofer@lunaeisenlamedia.com</u> | 202-670-5747 (mobile) **Rick L'Amie, <u>Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority</u>** <u>rlamie@ctrma.org</u> 512-924-4000 (mobile)

## Heiligenstein Takes Helm as President of International Bridge, Tunnel and Turnpike Association

2014 IBTTA Officers and Directors Began New Term on January  $\mathbf{1}^{\mathsf{st}}$ 

**WASHINGTON, DC** – On January 1<sup>st</sup>, Mike Heiligenstein, Executive Director of the Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority (CTRMA), Austin, Texas, began his year-long term as President of the <u>International Bridge, Tunnel and Turnpike Association (IBTTA)</u>, the worldwide association representing toll facility owners and operators and the businesses that serve them. In addition to Heiligenstein, eight directors began new terms on IBTTA's board of directors on January 1<sup>st</sup>. The new officers and directors were elected last September at IBTTA's 81<sup>st</sup> Annual Meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia.

"Over the next year, I look forward to leading our industry's international association while highlighting the great work at The Mobility Authority and other IBTTA member organizations around the globe," said Heiligenstein.

"Many of the challenges we face in Central Texas to provide safe, reliable, enjoyable and green mobility in one of the nation's fastest growing regions are challenges that are universal to transportation authorities around the world," said Heiligenstein "Throughout 2014, the tolling industry will have the opportunity to share experiences and learn from one another to bring best practices to work on behalf of our customers especially during IBTTA's 82<sup>nd</sup> Annual Meeting and Exhibition in Austin, Texas."

Heiligenstein has been with Mobility Authority since its inception in 2002 and oversaw the development of its initial project, the 183A toll road in Williamson County, which is one of the first projects in the country to transition to all-electronic, cashless toll collection. Before taking the helm at the Mobility Authority, Heiligenstein served the citizens of Williamson County for 23 years as a public official. Heiligenstein serves on the advisory board of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute, and on several other committees and working groups dealing with transportation issues.

"2014 is a crucial year for the advancement of tolling as a proven, reliable method of transportation infrastructure funding," said <a href="Patrick D. Jones">Patrick D. Jones</a>, Executive Director and CEO of IBTTA. "The infrastructure funding debate across the globe continues to highlight the need for tolling and other funding methods to help maintain and reconstruct our highways, bridges and tunnels. Mike, our officers and directors will guide our association during this critical debate."

## 2014 IBTTA Officers who began their terms on January 1st includes:

• **President:** Mike Heiligenstein, Austin, Texas

Executive Director, Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority

• 1st Vice President: <u>Javier Rodriguez</u>, Miami, Florida

Executive Director, Miami-Dade Expressway Authority

• 2nd Vice President: Buddy Croft, Jamestown, Rhode Island

Executive Director, Rhode Island Turnpike and Bridge Authority

Intl. Vice President: <u>Emanuela Stocchi</u>, Rome, Italy

Responsible for International Affairs, Associazione Italiana Societa

Concessionarie Autostrade e Trafori

Immediate Past President: Rob Horr, Alexandria Bay, NY

Executive Director, Thousand Islands Bridge Authority

## Eight directors whose new terms began on January 1st, include:

- Chris Tomlinson, Executive Director, Georgia State Road and Tollway Authority (term expires at the end of 2014)
- Chris Waszczuk, Administrator, New Hampshire Department of Transportation, Bureau of Turnpikes, Concord, NH (term expires at the end of 2014)
- Diane Scaccetti, Executive Director and CEO, Florida's Turnpike Enterprise, FL (term expires at the end of 2016)
- Gerald Carrigan, Executive Director, North Texas Tollway Authority, Plano, TX (term expires at the end of 2017)
- Andrew Fremier, P.E., Deputy Executive Director, Bay Area Toll Authority, Metropolitan Transportation Commission, Oakland, CA (term expires at the end of 2017)
- Samuel Johnson, Director of Operations, San Diego Association of Government, San Diego, CA (term expires at the end of 2017)
- Tim Stewart, Executive Director, Oklahoma Turnpike Authority, Oklahoma City, OK (term expires at the end of 2017)

• Cynthia Ward, Director, Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority, Washington, DC (term expires at the end of 2017)

###

## **About IBTTA**

The International Bridge, Tunnel and Turnpike Association (IBTTA) is the worldwide association representing toll facility owners and operators and the businesses that serve them. Founded in 1932, IBTTA has members in more than 20 countries on six continents. Through advocacy, thought leadership and education, members are implementing state-of-the-art, innovative user-based transportation financing solutions to address the critical infrastructure challenges of the 21st century. For more information, visit <a href="www.ibtta.org">www.ibtta.org</a> or join us on Twitter <a href="www.ibtta.org">@IBTTA</a> or #TollRoads.